Current Committee

Henrietta L. WileyProgram Co-Coordinator. Henrietta is Assistant Professor of Sacred Scripture at College of Notre Dame of Maryland.  She received her PhD in Hebrew Bible from the department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations at Harvard University, and her BA in Classical Greek from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.  Among her areas of interest are cultic sacrifice, ritual aspects of war, and images of divine ritual agency in the Hebrew Bible.

Rhetta is also a candidate for Holy Orders in the Episcopal Church in the Diocese of Southern Ohio.

Jason M. Silverman, Communications Coordinator. Jason is currently a post-doctoral researcher at the University of Helsinki, in the Centre of Excellence in Changes in Sacred Texts and Traditions. His research area is the Judaeans in the Persian Empire, specifically Iranian influence on prophetic and apocalyptic literature. He earned his PhD from Trinity College Dublin (2010). He is the author of Persepolis and Jerusalem: Iranian Influence on the Apocalyptic Hermeneutic (2012) and a co-editor of several books, including A Land Like Your Own (2010) and Political Memory in and after the Persian Empire (2015). His next book, The King’s Acolytes: Royal Persian-Judaean Elite Engagement in the Early Teispid and Achaemenid Empires is expected from T&T Clark in 2019.

Elizabeth Struthers Malbon, SBL Liaison. Elizabeth is Professor Emerita (2016) of Religion and Culture at Virginia Tech. Although the New Testament was her primary teaching area, she also taught a Humanities course on the Roman world and early Christianity, as well as special topics courses. Her primary research interest has been literary analysis of the Gospel of Mark, with secondary interests in methodology in the study of the New Testament and in early Christian iconography. Author of five books (most recent, Mark’s Jesus, 2009), as well as journal articles and book chapters, and editor or co-editor of five books, she has also been an active member of the Society of Biblical Literature at the regional, national, and international levels. She served the AABS as Program Coordinator (2003-2007), Communications Officer (2008-2010), Member-at-Large of the Steering Committee (2011-2015), and Program Co-Coordinator (2016- ).

Jane Patterson, President. Jane Patterson is Associate Professor of New Testament at Seminary of the Southwest in Austin, Texas, where she also serves as Director of Community Care. She is the author of Keeping the Feast: Metaphors of Sacrifice in 1 Corinthians and Philippians (SBL Press, 2015) and a contributor to Calling All Years Good: Vocation Across the Lifespan (Eerdmans, 2017). In biblical studies her academic interests include the intersection of literary, political, and theological study of the scriptures. She also teaches in the area of Christian formation, where her work focuses on vocation and Christian practice, and she is Associate Project Director for the “Called to Lives of Meaning and Purpose Initiative” of the Lilly Endowment, Inc. She is Co-Director of St. Benedict’s Workshop, a ministry devoted to helping laity live their faith in daily life, and serves the Diocese of West Texas as a member of the Discernment Committee. She is active as a preacher, teacher, and parishioner at St. Mark’s Episcopal Church in San Antonio. B.A. Smith College, M.T.S. Perkins School of Theology, C.I.T.S. Seminary of the Southwest, Ph.D. Southern Methodist University.

Frank W. Hughes, Treasurer. The Rev. Frank W. Hughes is Priest-in-Residence at the Episcopal Church of the Redeemer, Ruston, Louisiana. He was ordained in 1981 and earned his Ph.D. in 1984 from Northwestern University. He is the author of Early Christian Rhetoric and 2 Thessalonians (1989) and, with Robert Jewett, is co-author of The Corinthian Correspondence: Redaction, Rhetoric, and History, which appeared with Fortress Academic / Lexington Books in 2021. He was a Fulbright Scholar at the University of Göttingen. He has combined parish ministry with academic teaching during his career. He is Secretary-Treasurer of the Anglican Association of Biblical Scholars, and he is a member of the Society of Biblical Literature and Studiorum Novi Testamenti Societas. Contact him at fwhughes54 [at] hotmail [.] com.

Jonathan E. Soyars, Catering Coordinator. Jonathan Soyars is a Visiting Professor in New Testament at Louisville Seminary. He is a priest in the Episcopal Church.




Richard Liantonio, Liturgist. Richard Liantonio is a PhD Candidate in Hebrew Bible in the Centre for Jewish Studies at the University of Manchester. His dissertation focuses on a Cognitive Linguistic analysis of the conceptualization of happiness in the Psalms and Ancient Near East literature, with a particular emphasis on divine happiness. Richard is also a candidate for Holy Orders in The Episcopal Church in the Diocese of West Missouri.

.Dr. Steven Bishop. Program Coordinator. Dr. Steven Bishop has been associate professor of Old Testament at the Seminary of the Southwest since 2004. Formerly he was in the Boston area, where he earned three graduate degrees and taught at several universities. Formerly an ordained minister of the Church of Christ, he served churches in Texas and Massachusetts before beginning graduate studies in the early 1990s. Dr. Bishop’s academic interests include the poetry of the Hebrew Bible and literary translations of it into English, and the influence of Hellenistic thought on Hebrew wisdom literature. In addition to writing book reviews and presenting scholarly papers, Dr. Bishop assisted the well-known Old Testament scholar Bernhard Anderson in editing and revising two books: Out of the Depths: The Psalms Speak for Us Today and Contours of Old Testament Theology. Dr. Bishop worked again with Anderson as an editor and contributor for the fifth edition of Understanding the Old Testament, published in spring 2006. In 2015, Dr. Bishop was elected to the steering committee of the Anglican Association of Biblical Scholars.