Skip to main content



The Anglican Association of Biblical Scholars is an international association of biblical scholars who are affiliated with the churches of the Anglican Communion, including the Episcopal Church in the U.S., the Anglican Church of Canada, and the Church of England. Its purpose is to support biblical scholarship at all levels in the Anglican Communion. The AABS is dedicated to fostering greater involvement of biblical scholars in the life of Anglican churches, and to promoting the development of resources for biblical studies in Anglican theological education.



The 2013 Annual Meeting of the Anglican Association of Biblical Scholars was held on Friday, November 22, at  the Episcopal Cathedral of the Incarnation, Baltimore, MD 


The Schedule was as follows:

1:00 – Executive Committee Meeting - Henrietta L. Wiley, Notre Dame of Maryland University, Presiding

2:00 – Gathering and Greeting

3:00 – Program: 

Jane L. Patterson, Seminary of the Southwest, Presiding

Theme: Engaging the BILC Report: "Deep Engagement; Fresh Discovery"

The report of the Anglican Communion Bible in the Life of the Church project is available at

Alan H. Cadwallader, Australian Catholic University: Sexual Identities and the Bible: An Australasian Advance (20 min)
Reed Carlson, Harvard University: Telling the Whole Story: Bridging the Gap Between Lectionary and Canon (20 min)
Panel Discussion of "Deep Engagement; Fresh Discovery," the Report of Anglican Communion Bible in the Life of the Church Project
General Discussion

5:00 – General Business Meeting ‪- All AABS members and prospective members are invited.

6:00 – Holy Eucharist

The Rev. Prof. Peter H. Davids, Houston Baptist University, celebrant and homilist

7:00 – Dinner

7:45 – After-dinner talk 

The Very Rev. Dr. Cynthia Briggs Kittredge, Dean and President, The Seminary of the Southwest

The program, discussion, and meal were very enjoyable and informative. We look forward to a similarly helpful, informative, and worshipful time next year in San Diego.

The cost of the meeting and meal was $60, payable by check to the AABS via the AABS treasurer, Rev. Frank Hughes: 1107 Broadway St., Minden LA 71055 (+1 (318) 377-1259 for details) or pay via the button below (in case you forgot to pay).